The Mother Divine: Kathyayini

Nav Durga
The Mother Divine manifests herself in nine different forms with each form signifying something subtle and deep. Discover the hidden meanings of the nine goddesses or the Nav Durga. The Sixth Manifested form is known as Kathyayani.
The sixth form of the Mother Divine is Katyayani.
Everything that happens and unfolds before us, which is called Prapancha is not limited only to what is visible. That which is invisible and cannot be perceived by the senses is far greater than we can even imagine and comprehend.
The subtle world which is invisible and unmanifest is ruled by this form of the Mother Divine – Katyayani. In this form She represents everything that cannot be seen or understood. Katyayani represents the deep and most intricate secrets of Divinity.
How did this form of the Mother Divine come to manifest?
Once upon a time it so happened that all the demigods became very angry. The form of the Mother Divine that arose from this anger came to be known as Katyayani. There are divine and demonic forces in creation. So also, anger can be a positive or a negative force.
How can anger be a positive or a divine quality, and when can it become a negative or a demonic quality? There is a huge difference between the two. Do not think that anger is only a bad quality. Anger is also important and has its own place. Good anger is associated with wisdom, while bad anger with emotions and selfishness. Good anger comes from a sense of broad vision. Anger is appropriate when it is directed towards injustice and ignorance. Usually whoever gets angry tends to think that his anger is justified and directed towards some injustice only! But if you go deeper into more subtle levels of existence, you will find that it is not really so. In such cases anger actually creates bondage for the person. So, the anger that arises for righteous reasons and is directed towards negativity and injustice is represented by Devi Katyayani.
You must have witnessed so many natural calamities which people call the revenge of Nature. For example, many places get struck by huge earthquakes, or severe floods. All these happenings are attributed to Devi Katyayani. Devi Katyayani represents that divine principle and form of the Mother Divine which is behind such terrible natural calamities and disasters. Devi Katyayani also represents that anger that arises in Creation to restore and revive the principles of Dharma and truth. Katyayani is the divine force or principle of the unmanifest Divinity that arises in the subtle layers of creation against negativity and for the purpose of restoring Dharma. It is said that the anger of a wise person only brings about greater good; whereas even the love of an ignorant or foolish person can only cause more trouble. That is why Devi Katyayani actually represents a beneficial and uplifting force. Deepen your Navratri fasts with these Yoga Asanas
You’re planning to fast this Navratri – either you’re a fasting-beginner or a fasting pro. Either way, this is a time for determination and will power to come to the forefront.
The body is intimately connected with the mind and the mind with the emotions. When the body is purified through fasting, the mind is also purified. The mind becomes calm, clear and peaceful. The mind-body experiences a new level of balance and depth, chorusing: ‘we’re together in this!’
While fasting, the mind goes through some tiredness and the body also experiences fatigue.
You also start feeling super about yourself – the fact that you actually can control yourself and not indulge, your body could feel more energetic too and the mind could feel peaceful.
Fatigue can be managed and feeling super can be sustained by a few light yoga stretches, bends, and pranayama.
Two benefits of Yoga:
Yoga helps the body to cope with the process of detoxification and energizes it.
Through deep breathing and relaxation, the stressed out nervous system shifts to a state of calm, restorative and healing mode.
Here’s how you can include a little bit of yoga with your fasting:
1. Pranayama
2. Sheetkari Pranayama
3. Sharnaghat Asana
4. Spinal Stretch
5. Pawanmuktasana