No relief for 3 ex-CMs, other leaders detained since August 5

Srinagar: As massive efforts are being made to form a new political combination by former ministers and legislators, there was still no relief for three former Chief Ministers (CMs) and several other leaders who remained under detention in Kashmir valley since August 5, when the Centre abrogated special status and divided the state into two Union Territories (UTs).
As many as nine senior mainstream politicians, including Omar Abdullah, Farooq Abdullah and Mehbooba Mufti, have been booked under PSA since August 5.
After the sister of former CM and National Conference (NC) Vice president Omar Abdullah challenged his detention, daughter of another ex-CM Mehbooba Mufti also filed a petition Wednesday in the Supreme Court challenging her months detention in Kashmir.
A number of former ministers and legislators, including Altaf Bukhari and several other leaders from PDP besides chief of Democratic Nationalist Party (DPN) are holding meetings with each other to form a new political party in the state. The latest to join the group, working to form a new political combination other then NC and PDP, was former militant-turned politician Usman Majid who resigned from Congress recently.
Refuting reports that he was joining BJP, Mr Majid announced that he will be part of the new political group in the state.
Majority of these leaders working to form new group were released from detention after they gave assurance that they will not raise the issue of abrogation of Article 370. Interestingly, these leaders after their release are now raising the issue of electricity, roads and other development works in their press statements.
However, the leaders , including 3 ex CMs—Dr Farooq Abdullah, his son Omar Abdullah and Mehbooba Mufti—and several dozens of other leaders remained under detention since August 5.
Dr Abdullah, president of the National Conference (NC), vice-president Omar Abdullah, Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) president Mehbooba Mufti, NC general secretary Ali Mohammad Sagar and Peoples Movement chief Shah Faesal have been booked under Public Safety Act (PSA).
Over 300 leaders, mostly separatists and stone pelters remained arrested under PSA in the valley since the imposition of Governor and later President’s rule after PDP-BJP, headed by Ms Mufti, collapsed when saffron withdraw from the alliance in June 2019.
However, over 30 leaders, including former ministers and legislators, were released after they gave in writing that they will not raise the issue of scrapping of special status of the erstwhile state after their release.
These leaders have refused to sign an affidavit that they will not raise the issue of special status of the state.
Mr Abdullah’s detention has been challenged in the Supreme Court by his sister. The Apex court has fixed next date of hearing on March 2 after issuing notice to Jammu and Kashmir Union Territory (UT) administration.
Today, Ilteja Mufti, daughter of Ms Mufti has also challenged the detention of her mother in the Apex court.
Peoples Conference (PC) chairman Sajjad Gani Lone, who was a minister in PDP-BJP coalition government from Saffron party quota, was released from Sub jail and later put under house arrest recently.
There are still about 13 former ministers and legislators detained in Sub jail MLA hostel. The leaders under detention since August 5 included former minister Naeem Akhtar, who was also chief spokesperson of PDP-BJP coalition government.
Large number of separatist leaders, including spokespersons of both the factions of the Hurriyat Conference (HC), JKLF chief Mohammad Yaseen Malik, Democratic Freedom Party (DPF) Shabir Ahmad Shah besides Kashmir Bar Association (KBA) Mian Abdul Qayoum also remained under detention. Majority of them are detained in Delhi’s jail and other state prisons.