Mamata Banerjee sworn-in as chief minister of West Bengal for 3rd time in a row

Kolkata: Trinamool Congress chairperson Mamata Banerjee was on Wednesday sworn in as the Chief Minister of West Bengal for 3rd time in a row.
Governor Jagdeep Dhankar administered the oath of office and secrecy at simple function under the Covid situation. She took the oath in Bengali.
The 66-year-old TMC supremo has been the chief minister from 2011 onward, also the first woman CM in Bengal, who took office after defeating then Left Front government which was headed by Buddhadeb Bhattacharya.

Among others present at the Raj Bhawan were Mamata Banerjee’s nephew and party MP Abishek Banerjee, I-PAC chief Prashant Kishor, former speaker Biman Banerjee, Firhad Hakim, actor turned MP Dev, Partha Chatterjee, state chief secretary Alaphan Bhandypadhya, the DGP and others. However, there were no opposition members, neither from the BJP nor the Congress although invitations had been sent to BJP president Dilip Ghosh, Congress leader Adhir Ranjan Chowdhury and Pradeep Bhattacharya.