IAF chief to operationalise 2nd LCA Tejas squadron at Sulur on May 27

New Delhi: Indian Air Force (IAF) Chief Air Chief Marshal RKS Bhadauria will operationalise No 18 Squadron ‘Flying Bullets’, equipped with LCA Tejas FOC Aircraft on May 27 at Sulur-based Air Force Station in Tamil Nadu.
It will be the second IAF Squadron to fly LCA Tejas, IAF Spokesperson Wing Commander Indranil Nandi said in a statement.
18 Squadron was formed on April 15 1965 with the motto ‘Teevra aur Nirbhaya’ meaning ‘Swift and Fearless’.
The Squadron was flying MiG 27 aircraft before it got number plated on April 15 2016. The Squadron was resurrected on April 1 this year at Sulur, he added.
The Squadron actively participated in the 1971 War with Pakistan and was decorated with the highest gallantry award ‘Param Vir Chakra’ awarded to Flying Officer Nirmal Jit Singh Sekhon posthumously.
It earned the sobriquet of ‘Defenders of Kashmir Valley’ by being the first to land and operate from Srinagar.
The Squadron was presented with President’s Standard in November 2015.
Tejas is an indigenous fourth generation tailless compound delta wing aircraft.
The aircraft is equipped with fly-by-wire flight control system, integrated digital avionics, multimode radar and its structure is made out of composite material.
It is the lightest and smallest in its group of fourth generation supersonic combat aircraft.