History today

 1925-M. S. Swaminathan, Indian geneticist and administrator
known for his role in India’s Green Revolution.
 1935-Rajmohan Gandhi, biographer and a research professor
at the Center for South Asian and Middle Eastern
 1936- Chandrakant Topiwala, Gujarati language poet and
critic from Gujarat, India.
 1937- Ian Cardozo, former Indian Army officer.
 1942-Inaganti Venkata Rao, journalist and political analyst.
 1871- Abanindranath Tagore was the principal artist and
creator of the Indian Society of Oriental Art.
 1899-Dimbeswar Neog was a renowned writer, literati,
educator and poet of Assamese literature.
 1941-Rabindranath Tagore was a Bengali poet, writer,
music composer, and painter from the Indian subcontinent.
 2011-Cornelius Elanjikal was an Indian prelate of the
Roman Catholic Church.
 1905-Indian National Congress declares boycott of
British goods.
 1947-The Bombay Municipal Corporation formally takes
over the Bombay Electric Supply and Transport (BEST).
 1985-Geet Sethi became the third Indian to become the
World’s Armature Billiard’s Champion.
 2018-Swedish furniture brand Ikea opens its first store in
India in Hyderabad.