Hero I-League Qualifiers 2021: Ten teams to take part

Kolkata: The All India Football Federation has announced that altogether 10 teams would take part in the season domestic football tournament of Hero I-League, to be played at the Bangalore Football Stadium in Bengaluru, Karnataka, from October this year.
A total of 10 teams will represent as many states in the Hero I-League Qualifiers 2021, from within a centrally organised Bio Bubble in Bengaluru.
This edition will also see as many as seven teams make their debut – Hyderya Sports FC (J&K), Corbett FC (Uttarakhand), Delhi FC (Delhi), Madan Maharaj FC (Madhya Pradesh), Rajasthan United FC (Rajasthan), Kerala United FC (Kerala), Ryntih SC (Meghalaya).
Meanwhile, the likes of ARA FC (Gujarat), Kenkre FC (Maharashtra), and FC Bengaluru United (Karnataka), who have played in the competition before, complete the lineup, the AIFF said
The participating clubs have all gone through the process of nomination by their respective state FAs, and have successfully submitted the required documents for the league and club licensing on time.
β€œIt’s great to kick-off the Indian football domestic season once again with the Hero I-League Qualifiers. What makes the tournament all the more special this season is that we will have double the number of teams that played in the competition last year, and seven of the 10 teams are debutants,” said AIFF Leagues CEO Sunando Dhar.
The 10 participating teams will be split into two groups of five teams each. The Group Stage will be conducted in a round-robin format, with every team playing their rival clubs within their respective group once. The top two teams from each group will proceed to the Final Round, which will be played in another round-robin format with each of the four teams playing against each other once. The team that finishes at the top of the pile in the Final Round, will earn promotion to the Hero I-League 2021-22 season by winning the Hero I-League Qualifiers 2021.
The 10 teams who will be playing in the Hero I-League qualifiers are as follows:
Hyderya Sports FC (J&K)
Corbett FC (Uttarakhand)
Delhi FC (Delhi)
Madan Maharaj FC (Madhya Pradesh)
Rajasthan United FC (Rajasthan)
ARA FC (Gujarat)
Kenkre FC (Maharashtra)
FC Bengaluru United (Karnataka)
Kerala United FC (Kerala)
Ryntih SC (Meghalaya)