Dogra Sadar Sabha organizes Heritage Presentation

Dogra Sadar Sabha president Th. Gulchain Singh Charak addressing special invitees at Jammu on Tuesday.

JAMMU: A very nostalgic presentation on the history, stages of construction, dynastic eras and relevance and architectural splendor of the grand Mubarak Mandi complex was held at the Dogra Sadar Sabha (DSS) Bhawan, Dogra Hall Jammu.
After the DSS president Th. Gulchain Singh Charak gave the introductory talk on various efforts that have gone into getting the restoration work on wheels in past few decades a power point presentation was given by a son of soil, Munish Pandit, Director & Conversation Architect from the Sankrakshan Heritage Consultants Pvt Ltd, New Delhi.
It was a big eye opener for many among the audience and a touching story for the elders who knew the history and various developments of the Dogra dynasty, post independence neglect and the indifference, apathy that resulted in the ruin of these great assets of Dogra Culture.
Services of the Sanrakshan Heritage Consultants Pvt Ltd have been hired by the State Government for restoration of the complex.
Munish Pandit explained the working plan as the firm visualized and the targets that they have set before them. DSS also pointed out the rough deal that some careless agencies are still subjecting to the heritage site. As an example a photo was produced in which some private telecom agency has been allowed to deface the entry point to the site in a most ugly manner by fixing a metallic cable support pole.
DSS members decried such treatment to the pride location and urged the government to give the restoration a time bound priority, constant proactive monitoring and to ensure that the allocated funds do not lapse with the closing of financial year as also for specific allocations for the next financial year to be planned with the budget.
The presentation and meeting was attended among others by Col. Karan Singh Jamwal, Prem Sagar Gupta, Col. Dr. Virendra K. Sahi, Brig. M S Jamwal, G A Khawaja, Ashok Angurana, Ajay Khajuria, Samar Dev Singh Charak, Sohail Kazmi, Vinod Malhotra, Col. J P Singh, Col. R P Singh, Rajesh Gupta, Rajeshwar Singh Jamwal, Chatter Singh, Chhankar Singh, Karun Sharma, S. Kulbir Singh, S.Balwinder Singh, Waris Shah, Bharat Bhushan and others.