Delimitation Commission’s final order sent to LS, RS secretaries

Delimitation Commission

SRINAGAR: The final order of Delimitation Commission that redrew J&K’s electoral map has been sent to the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha secretaries for laying it in both Houses of the Parliament. These have been sent to the secretaries of the Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha for being laid before the two house of the Parliament.
A copy of the final order has also been sent to the Chief Secretary of Jammu & Kashmir for laying it on the table of the Legislative Assembly of the Union Territory of Jammu and Kashmir.
While the report is expected to be tabled in the Parliament in the monsoon session in July-August, it would be laid before the Legislative Assembly of Jammu and Kashmir only after holding of elections in the UT. Jammu & Kashmir is without its Legislative Assembly for the past three and a half years.
On May 5, 2020, the Delimitation Commission unveiled the final electoral map of Assembly and Lok Sabha segments of Jammu and Kashmir.
The panel has given six additional assembly seats to Jammu region, taking the number to 43 from 37, whereas the Kashmir region got one additional seat, taking the number from 46 to 47.