BLSKS presents 279th musical play on ‘Beti Bachao Beti Padhao’

A still from the musical play Beti Bachao Beti Padhao’ staged in Jammu on Sunday

JAMMU: To promote the traditional culture of J&K and to make the masses aware, Bhartiya Lok Sangeet Kala Sansthan (BLSKS) staged its 279th Saturday Series Musical Play ‘Beti Bachao Beti Padhao’ in collaboration with Sangam Tru Art Production and National College of Computer Education as part of its regular feature on the theme of ‘Bhrun Hatya – Save Girl Child’ at Durga Bhawan Janipur Jammu. The programe was inaugurated by the chief guest V.K. Magotra, former Regional Director, Directorate of Field Publicity, Government of India. Dr. Anju Dogra, Health Department, J&K Government, Dr.Tara Singh Charak , former Deputy Director, Health Department, J&K Government, Vinod Dogra, Chief Service Engineer Excide & R.P Amla, Event Director were the guest of honours. The programme commenced with welcome song presented by the artists of BLSKS and students of the institute.
The songs sung by the artists included “Hum sab ki Ladli beti”, “Dhiyan gi na marro” , “Mang rahi hai beti jag mai jine ka adhikar” , “ Baiman lok kase diya mar de” , “Sun –sun saheli meri sun, paruhn likhu yehi meri dhun” , “ Kya pier kahun apne mann ki”. The music was assisted by renowned singer of J&K, Raju Bajgal, Music Instructor, BLSKS.
Speaking on the occasion, the chief guest lauding the role of Bhartiya Lok Sangeet Kala Sansthan-(NGO) underlined the importance of staging such plays in all parts of the state to generate awareness among the masses about various social evils through theatre/drama which was still a very powerful medium of communication.
Welcoming the dignitaries M.L. Dogra, chairman, BLSKS highlighted the ‘Ladli Beti Scheme’ of Government of India. He said that the aim of Ladli Beti Scheme was to alter the position of the girl kid in family.
The singers, musicians, actors and students of music and computer institute who performed in the musical play were Usha Handoo , M.C.Kotwal,, Raju Bajgal , Kuldeep Raj, Chahat Chadha, Rajinder Saini, Rajni Gupta, Ujwal Sharma, Kamla Devi , K.K.Joshi, Sudesh Kumari, Neelam Gandotra, Neelam Gandotra and many others. Master Deepak Kumar presented a vote of thanks for successful conduct of the programme.