BJP trying to create communal divide in country: Farooq Abdullah

Katra : Former J&K Chief Minister and National Conference president, Dr Farooq Abdullah alleged that BJP is “engineering communal divide for the vote bank politics which is very dangerous for the country.”

Addressing a large elections rally in presence of AICC Incharge J&K affairs Bharatsinh Solanki along with Congress candidate Raman Bhalla today at Katra , Farooq said that parties of INDIA bloc have come together to save the nation, it’s secular character and the democracy. BJP wants to rule by the rule of thumb and by force brushing aside the norms of democracy.

“We have come together for a bigger cause of nation and democracy which is in danger today. They want to destroy the social, secular ethos and democratic norms laid down by the framers of the Constitution. They are also trying to create communal divide in the society for the vote bank which is very dangerous for the country like India,” Farooq asserted.

Praising leadership of Pt Nehru and Indira Gandhi, he hit out at BJP for the malicious propaganda against Nehru and Indira whose contributions in nation building are immense but heart burns when they speak so low against them in the Parliament.

“It was Pt Nehru who laid strong foundations and initiated scientific approach, the fruits of which are being reaped by the nation today. Not a needle was manufactured, when Nehru took over not a needle was being manufactured & today the country has achieved heights in all spheres. Indira brought about green revolution in the country and made it self sufficient in food,” he said.

Blaming BJP of ruling Jammu and Kashmir by proxy, he said that local officers have been sidelined while outside bureaucrats are running the show who are unaware of the topography and geography of Jammu and Kashmir and the hardships faced by the people. Farooq said whosoever raises voice against corruption in this regime is dealt like a senior bureaucrat flagging the issue of corruption in JJM in J&K, who even wrote to PMO also.

Farooq said that Jammu and Kashmir acceded to a nation of Mahatma Gandhi and Nehru where all were equal and treated equally. BJP wants to divide and rule. He questioned where are fifty thousand jobs promised to youth of J&K, adding that all their announcements have come out to be jumlas.

Addressing the rally, Bharatsinh Solanki questioned the claims of development of Modi Government and asked if they have delivered in 10 years why PM Modi, Home Minister Amit Shah and UP Chief Minister Yogi Adityanath and other top leaders have to come rushing to Jammu to seek votes. It shows the panic in BJP due to mood of the people here for change due to their failures to deliver and come upto the expectation of people of Jammu and Kashmir.

Solanki said that UPA Government headed by Dr Manmohan Singh was a people’s Government and did a lot for the welfare of the countrymen with special focus on J&K but BJP has only robbed the people of J&K of their dignity, status and rights as well as resources and job opportunities.

Raman Bhalla lashed out at the BJP for ruining the youth and future generations of Jammu and Kashmir as people suffered a lot under Modi regime. He said that BJP promised a lot to each and every section but they are feel cheated and betrayed as our land, jobs, resources are being looted and future is unsafe. The youth, traders, workers, farmers and women are all restlessness and there is lot of joblessness.

He said that old age, widow, handicapped, daily wagers and others are all suffering under BJP regime. The local issues raised by DCC president and others of the ponywallas and other Vaishno Devi labourers will receive due attention by him, as it is they who carry the pilgrims from all over country to Mata Vaishno Devi Ji shrine. “There was complete religious harmony in J&K but BJP wants to divide people on regional and religious lines and asked people to reject BJP to bring a better future.”

Prominent Congress and NC leaders who attended the rally included Manoj Yadav-AICC secretary, Ajay Sadhotra (NC), Ravinder Sharma (INC) Rattan Lal Gupta, Abdul Ghani Malik, Jagjivan Lal, Rampaul, Aiyaz Jan, Bimla Luthra (NC), Rakesh Wazir, Rajesh Sadotra, Jagdev Gaga (INC) & Akash Bharat (PYC).