AJKPC flays Govt for neglecting villages falling within 0-6 km from IB


JAMMU: All J&K Panchayat Conference expressed resentment over the ignorance of several villages which have not been included in the list of reserved villages of International Borders under SRO 518.
Addressing media persons here, Gurdeep Singh Saini, General Secretary of AJKPC and Sarpanch of Gandali Panchayat of Block RS Pura said that there are several villages which, despite being near the International Border, have not been included in the list prepared by the government to give special reservations to people residing border areas, seeking modification.
Saini said that his Panchayat is only 4.8 km from the International Border through air distance and whenever shelling from Pakistan, people of these villages have always suffer besides the students’ education has also got affected. But despite this, the government has kept his Panchayat out of the list, while there are several villages behind his Panchayat have been included in this list, which proves that there is a big mistake on the part of administration while preparing the list, he added.
“As per the SRO 518 issued by government for providing reservation rights to youth, some Patwar circles lying within 5 km of district Jammu, Samba and other frontier areas have not been included, which we strongly criticized. It will deprive people of many villages in the border areas, especially unemployed youth from the benefits provided by the government,” he added.
Saini appealed to the Lt Governor Girish Chandra Murmu to intervene into the matter and issue directions to include all such villages in the list of reservation which are rightfully entitled to it. He further appealed to the Lt Governor to immediately issue a new list of reserved villages comprising all left over villages falling within 0-6 km from the International Borders. He informed that a delegation of All Jammu Kashmir Panchayat Conference will meet the Lt Governor soon and will put this demand before him.
Harjinder Singh, Devraj Sharma and Darshan Singh were also present in the press conference.