52 BSF officials conferred Police medal on Independence Day

New Delhi: As many as 52 officials of India premier border guarding force Border Security Force (BSF) have been conferred with Police Medals on the occasion of 74th Independence Day, 2020.
Among 52, one Police Medal for Gallantry (PMG) has been conferred Assistant Commandant Vinay Prasad posthumously whereas the five officials have been conferred with President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service.
Other 46 officials have been awarded with Police Medal for Meritorious service.
“Assistant Commandant (AC) Vinay Prasad of 19 Bn BSF has been awarded police medal for gallantry for his unparalleled and gallant action, soldierly spirit, exemplary courage, high level of professionalism, selfless devotion to duty and battle audacity”, the PMG citation reads.
“On 15th of January 2019, while deployed along Indo-Pakistan Border, AC Vinay Prasad not only foiled the enemy’s bid to inflict maximum casualty on own troops but also with scant regard to his personal safety gave a befitting reply to Pakistani snipers and troops without caring for his personal safety. While displaying dauntless courage, he made the supreme sacrifice for the nation in the line of duty”, the BSF said in a statement.
The other BSF officials who have been awarded with President’s Police Medal for Distinguished Service are DIG Rajesh Sharma, DIG Inderjit Singh Rana, DIG Hardeep Singh, DIG Ravi Gandhi and Inspector Bhuwan Chandra Joshi.