29.93 pc voting in Srinagar LS seat till 3 PM

Srinagar, The Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency recorded an estimated 29.93 percent votes out of 17.4 lakh voters who had exercised their franchise till 1500 hours during the fourth Phase of Lok Sabha election on Monday.

An official spokesman said that 29.93 percent votes were polled during the eight hours of the voting for Srinagar Lok Sabha seat.

The highest percent recorded at Kangan segment of the Srinagar Parliamentary Constituency was 46.74 followed by 45.70 percent at Charar-e-Sharief, 41.20 percent at Khan sahib, 40.70 percent Chadooral and 39.30 percent at Ganderbal till 1500 hours.

Once known as bastion of poll boycott and area for strike and stone pelting, Khanyar segment in the downtown Srinagar recorded 17.05 percent of votes till 3 pm.

Similarly, 37.91 percent voting was recorded at Shopian, 33.21 percent at Pulwama, 36.31 percent at Rajpora, 29.79 percent at Pampore, 30.45 percent in Tral, 22.97 percent at Zadibal, 21.70 percent at Lal Chowk, 16.45 percent at Channapora, 21.78 percent at Eidgah, 11.40 percent at Habbakadal, Central Shalteng 20.48 percent and 22.02 percent in Hazratbal.

As many as 24 candidates including National Conference candidate Aga Ruhullah Syed, Peoples Democratic Party youth leader Waheed-Ur-Rehman Parra and Apni Party’s Ashraf Mir were contesting the Srinagar Lok Sabha seat.