Shivani wins Gold, Shilpa gets Silver medal in 21st Jammu District Sport Climbing Championship

JAMMU :International Sport Climbers Shivani Charak and Shilpa Charak won the  Gold and Silver medal respectively in the 21st Jammu District Sport Climbing Championship which commenced at Sprawling Buds ICSE School, Bantalab. The third position was bagged by Vishali Sharma of Patoli Brahmana. In the girls category, the first and second positions were secured by Janvi Sharma and Mahima Sharma of Sprawling Buds ICSE School, Bantalab Jammu. The third position was clinched by Tabia of St. Xavier Senior Secondary School, Barnai. However, St. Xavier Senior Secondary School completely dominated the Mini Girls Category win- ning the first three posi- tions. Whereas Deepika Sagotra and Sonakshi Singh won the Gold and Silver medal respectively, the bronze medal went to
Jasneet Kour. In the Sub Junior Girls category the Gold, Silver and Bronze medals were bagged by Prachi Katoch of Oriental Academy Senior Secondary School, Jammu; Sania Sharma of Government Girls Higher Secondary School, Mubarak Mandi Jammu and Shaweta of Oriental Academy Senior Secondary School, Jammu respectively.
There was an upset in the mini-boys category wherein Chitesh Singh of Elite Public School, Udhaywala in his maiden competition defeated Udhay Singh of Shining Star Academy, Muthi and Gagan Deep Singh of St. Xavier Senior Secondary School, Jammu who had to contend with the 2nd and 3rd positions. Competition in the Men’s and Junior Boys Category were in progress and the finals shall be played tomorrow. Earlier, the champi- onship was inaugurated by Prof. Lalit Magotra, President Dogri Sanstha Jammu who is also Advisor of Tawi Trekkers J&K. Prominent among others present on the occasion included Rahul Sharma, Chairman and Seema Sharma, Director of Sprawling Buds ICSE School; Arti Sharma, Principal, Apple Kids Internal Pre School Bantalab, Jammu; Ram Khajuria, Senior Vice President, Shawetica Khajuria, General Secretary and Sonam Sidharth, an executive member of M o u n t a i n e e r i n g Association of J&K; Sakshi Magotra, a sport climbing judge, Bharti Bhat, Fazal Ahmad, Sudesh Thakur, Archana Tickoo and Shallu Bhat.