LS Polls: After All-Night Meet, BJP To Release 1st Candidates List


The BJP Central Election Committee held a meeting to finalize names of candidates for 2019 Lok Sabha elections, presided by Prime Minister Narendra Modi and party president Amit Shah.

Meeting focused particularly on constituencies where polling will be held in the first phase. Andhra Pradesh, Assam, Bihar, Jammu and Kashmir, Maharashtra, Uttar Pradesh, Uttarakhand and West Bengal will go to polls in the first phase on 11 April.

Union Ministers Sushma Swaraj, Rajnath Singh, Arun Jaitley and Kiren Rijiju also attended the meeting.

State of Bihar, Uttarakhand, Assam, Arunachal, Manipur, Tripura, Andhra Pradesh, Maharashtra and Jammu and Kashmir figured in the deliberations, ANI reported quoting sources.

According to reports, the meeting did not discuss Uttar Pradesh, which has 80 parliamentary seats and where the BJP is still in talks with smaller parties to finalize seat sharing.

Amit Shah is likely to meet with the core committee of the party today again after which the BJP is expected to announce its first list of candidates, sources said.

The party’s Central Election Committee is likely to meet again on Monday, 18 March and by Friday it may announce the list of all candidates.

The Lok Sabha elections will begin on 11 April and continue for over a month till May 19 across seven phases, followed by counting of votes on 23 May.