JKP Wrestler Benia Min lifts Nomani Dangal title

JAMMU: Wrestler Benia Min of J&K Police and a resident of Basant garh in district Udhampur lifted the 13th Nomani (Katra) Dangal title. Benia defeated Vijay of Sonipat in Haryana in the main bout at Nomani. Dangal was organized by Nomani Dangal Committee in association with J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association under the guidance of Mohd Sharif (president) and Mohan Lal Sharma. Former Joint Secretary of J&K Sports Council and senior vice president of the Indian Style Wrestling Association of India, Shiv Kumar Sharma was the chief guest, who gave away cash prizes to the winners and runner-up wrestlers in presence of Naresh Kumar (Pappu Lakri), vice president J&K Indian Style Wrestling Association and Deep Singh (Pinka), wrestling promoter.
Title winner, Benia Min awarded with cash prize of Rs 35,000 while runners- up Vijay presented Rs 30,000. The 2nd main bout won by Somloke of Nomani beating Soni of Goal Bagh Stadium, Amritsar in Punjab to receive a cash prize of Rs 12,000. Soni got Rs 9,000 cash prize. In third main bout, Ajay Sharma of Ladden Power House in Udhampur defeated Inderjeet of Amritsar to fetch a cash prize of Rs 9,000. Ajay received Rs 6,000. The fourth main bout between Dillar Khan of J&K Police and Ankush of Amritsar ended in a draw. Both
Dillar and Ankush shared Rs 10,000 cash prize. Fifth bout won by Bablu of Basantgarh beating Sonu of Pathankot. Bouts officiated by the technical panel led by Naresh Kumar (Pappu Lakri) including Deepak Wazir, Tulinder Kumar, Inspector Satvir Singh and Murli Dhar (Munna). In total, 45 bouts played in this day-long Dangal. Members of organizing Committee included Mohd Shrif (president), Mohan Lal Sharma, Raj Kumar (Raju), Ved Pujari, Numberdar Karan Singh, Bittu Teli and Om Parkash Magotra.