J&K Fencing Assn unanimously elects new body

Jammu,  Jammu and Kashmir Amateur Fencing Association (JKAFA) on Sunday unanimously elected a new body after much awaited elections were conducted here.

Nisha Sharma has been elected as new president of the association replacing the outgoing president Mukheerjee Sharma, who has been unanimously nominated as new Patron-in-Chief.

Meanwhile Mohinder Sharma has been elected as Senior Vice President, Jagdish Kumar, Farhat Abbas as Vice Presidents, Bhanu Vijay Sharma as (Hon) General Secretary, Sameer Ahmed as Joint Secretary (one post of Jt Secy was kept vacant), Sanjay Gupta as Treasurer.

The executive members included Omar Mukhtar, Rashid Malik, Fency Jan, Ghulam Hassan, Rashmi Mahajan, Amarnath Bhagat, Ashok Kumar, Raj Singh and Surinder Kumar.

Anshuja Tak as Returning Officer and Ranjeet Kalra (Member Sports Council) as observer from the Jammu and Kashmir Sports Council and Yudhvir Singh from Jammu and Kashmir Olympic Association (JKOA) were assigned tasks for smooth conduct of the elections.

“Before the start of the election process, we announced that if any member wanted to withdraw his/her nomination or have an objection, if any, the same can be reported to the Returning Officer,” said the officials conducting the election proceedings.

“No person raised any objection and no withdrawal was received from any member till the date of election, so the newly elected body was unanimously elected during the Annual General Body meeting on Sunday,” they said.

However, on being asked about the participation of any official or member appointed as observer by the Fencing Association of India (FAI), they replied, “no, there was no observer appointed by the FAI to conduct the elections.”