International Year of Millets observed by NCC of Govt. SPMR College of Commerce, Jammu


NCC Unit of Govt. SPMR College of Commerce, Jammu in collaboration with NSS and Eco Club under the aegis of G20 organized one day seminar on International Millets Day under the patronage of Dr. Surinder Kumar, worthy Principal of the college and Col. R S Jasrotia, Commanding Officer of 2nd J&K Boys BN. Dr. Surinder Kumar was also the Chief Guest on the occasion formally inaugurated the programme.
The Programme commenced with lightening of lamp and Prof. (Lt.) Savita Jamwal welcomed all the guests present on the occasion. Prof. (Dr.) Meenakshi Gupta, Department of Agronomy, SKUAST University Jammu was the Resource Person on the said occasion. She elaborated the nutritional value of Millets and highlighted upon the various crops which can be a substitute for regular cereals consumed by people in general. The awareness regarding International Year of Millets and its theme “Harnessing the untapped potential of Millets for Food Security, Nutrition and Sustainable Agriculture” with NCC Cadets, NSS and Eco Club Volunteers.
Speaking on the occasion, the Principal of the college emphasized on the cultivation of Millets at a much larger scale keeping into consideration the depleting water resources and further urged the NCC Cadets and students to include millets as part of their routine dietary habits instead of commonly consumed junk food. He lauded the efforts of ANO Prof. Savita Jamwal and Prof. Apfan Ali for meticulously organizing the event and making it a success. The programme was attended by NCC Cadets, NSS Volunteers and general students of the college. The faculty members present on the occasion were Prof. Barbara Kaul, HOD Commerce, Prof. Shafkat Jahangir, HOD English, Dr. Monika Malhotra, Coordinator IQAC, Prof. Ashu Manhas, Prof. Reeta Menia, Dr. Nazia Rasool, HOD EVS, Prof. Rajni Bala, Dr. Deepak Pathania, Dr. Sarabjeet Kour Sudan and Mr. Naresh Kumar.
The whole programme was coordinated by Prof. (Lt.) Savita Jamwal, Prof. Apfan Ali, NSS PO and Dr. Deepak Pathania, Convener Eco Club and vote of thanks was given by SUO Shivan Sharma.