DC Samba flags off awareness rally on Road Safety Week


SAMBA : Deputy Commissioner Samba, Anuradha Gupta today inaugurated the week long Road Safety awareness programme from Inspection and Certification centre Vijaypur.

The Deputy Commissioner, while speaking on occasion, said that enforcement of traffic regulations and awareness regarding road safety measures is essential for preventing road accidents.

Highlighting the importance of National Road Safety Week, the DC Samba said that road accidents are preventable and it is very much important that awareness programmes are organised with active involvement of youth and school children.

The Deputy Commissioner flagged off the Rally (Walk for Awareness) to promote Road Safety measures in which Degree College students, NCC cadets  and other general public from both private and Government institutions participated. The rally commenced from Vijaypur and culminated at Supwal.

Speaking on the occasion, ARTO, Transport Department, Rehana Tabassum, said that lack of awareness and over speeding are the main causes of accidents.

Meanwhile, the District Administration as part of Azadi ka Amrit Mahotsav inaugurated a two day BIRSA programme to celebrate and promote rich Dogra Heritage.

She was the chief guest on the occasion. She called upon all sections of society to come forward and promote the cultural ethos of Dogra Heritage. The annual program for identification of talent in young and senior  sections of the population was organized in the conclave Hall of the DC Office.

After inaugurating the BIRSA, a talent hunt programme, the DC informed that a multitude of activities would be organized during the program like Parola making, local cuisine competitions, Folk dance and song competition, Dogri poetry, heritage quiz, besides other competitions. A large number of entries of participation have been received for the competitions in above 18 years and below 18 years age categories.

Among winners in Singing  Surjeet Kumar bagged first position, Sanju Kumar,  2nd and  Aastha Singh bagged  3rd position, while in dance  Jr category, first position was bagged by Anshika Choudhary, 2nd byPrincess Manyata Sethi and 3rd by Vishali Bhagat. In the senior category, in the dance competition, Vaniket, Kapil, and Isha Gangotra were declared winners