Jamyang elected as youngest CEC of LAHDC

LEH, NOV 9: Councillor Martselang, Jamyang Tsering Namgyal, was elected unopposed as the new Chairman/CEC of LAHDC, Leh at Council Assembly Hall today. Likewise, Gyal P Wangyal, Councilor Sakti was elected unopposed as the Deputy CEC, LAHDC, Leh.
CEO, LAHDC/DC Leh, AvnyLavasa who is also the election officer declared the results after two proposals each for CEC and Dy. CEC was accepted unopposed by all the elected members of 5th Hill Council.
Addressing the house, CEC, LAHDC Jamyang Tsering Namgyal said that his priority would be to set up good governance through LAHDC and to stress on holistic and equitable development in the district. He assured to put his best efforts to stand by everyone’s expectations and urged all the elected councilors, administration and public to support him in taking Leh district to a new height of development.
He expressed gratitude to all the elected members with special honour to Ex-CEC DorjeyMutup by presenting Khataks. He said that DorjeyMutup has been an exemplary leader for his honesty, sincerity and dedication towards people’s welfare and stands as an inspiration to the young aspiring leaders including him.
He also expressed thanks to DC, Leh and her team for the arrangements and smooth conduct of the election of CEC and Dy. CEC, LAHDC, Leh.
Councillor Upper Leh Ven Lobzang Nyantak seconded by Phunchok Stanzin, Councilor Skurbuchan proposed Jamyang Tsering Namgyal for the post of CEC and Tsering Angdus, Councilor Saspol seconded by Phuntsog Dorjey, Councilor Phyang proposed Gyal P Wangyal for the post of Dy CEC for the running Fifth Hill Council.
After the results DC presented winning certificates to the newly elected CECs.
BJP State President Ravinder Raina, MLC Chering Dorje, and BJP councillors and were also present on the occasion.
Earlier, on Oct 28, former CEC LAHDC Leh, Dorjay Motup had resigned from the post of Hill Council Chairman on the ground of health issue.
Responding to media query, Ravinder Raina, informed that today elected CEC of Leh unanimously who is young and energetic Councillor and Gyal Wangail who is also an experienced leader and won the third term.
“We hope that they will work for progress and development of the people of Leh with the PM Modi’s mission “Sabka Saath Sabka Vikas”, Raina said.
“We try our best to give governance on development plank and I am sure that they will give their best,” he added.
MLC Chering Dorje said, “for the first time in the history of Council, Gyal P Wangyal has been elected for newly created post of Deputy Chairman.”
The smooth conduct of election process, displayed discipline among the Councillors, he added and said that both are good and energetic leaders and hope they will work for the development of the region.
Meanwhile locals congratulated both the newly elected councillors by presenting them traditional scarf (Khataks).