Pallanwala lifts Dev Raj memorial Volleyball tourney

JAMMU, SEP 13: Pallanwala Club lifted the Dev Raj Khajuria memorial Volleyball tournament outplaying Territorial Army (TA) by 157 in straight sets of 3-0 (26-24, 25-16, 25-21) in the title clash at M A Stadium, here. In all, 16 teams drawn from local clubs and para-military forces participated in the two-day long championship. Earlier, in the semi-finals, TA 157 beat 4th RAJ RAF by 3-2 (25-17, 25-23, 24-26, 23-25, 15-10) while Pallanwala outplayed Trikuta Volleyball Club by 3-0 (25-23, 25-21, 25-22).
MLA Rajesh Gupta was the Chief Guest and presented title trophies, cash-prizes and other individual prizes. Winner team of Pallanwala was presented a cash-prize of Rs 10000 while Runners-up TA got Rs 5000. Special prizes worth Rs 2000 each were given to Anil Singh of Pallanwala and Romi of TA 157, who were declared as the Best-players. The Chief Guest lauded the efforts of the organisers and assured every possible help to promote the game among youth thereby keeping youngsters away from the evil of drug menace.
Prominent among others present on the occasion included H S Gill, Kuldip Magotra, V K Magotra, R C Sharma, Akbar Ali, Anchal Singh, S S Gill and Balwan Singh. The matches were officiated by Rajesh Virdhy, Amit Sharma, Jagjit Singh, Sardar Amarjit Singh, Satpaul and Shubam Sharma.