ABVP wins top three posts after EVM row, NSUI settles for secretary

NEW DELHI, Sep 13: The RSS-backed Akhil Bhartiya Vidyarthi Parishad (ABVP) on Thursday won top three posts – president, vice president and joint secretary – while Congress’ student wing NSUI bagged the post of secretary in the hotly contested Delhi University Students’ Union (DUSU) Elections 2018, which were marred due to alleged ”faulty use of EVMs”.
According to ANI, ABVP candidates Ankiv Basoya, Shakti Singh and Jyoti Choudhary won the posts of president, vice president and joint secretary respectively.
NSUI candidate Akash Choudhary won the post of secretary. According to the figures shared by the chief electoral officer, Ankiv Basoya (ABVP) got 20,467 votes against Sunny Chillar (NSUI) who got 18,723. Basoya won the presidential poll by 1,744 votes.
For the post of vice-president, Shakti Singh (ABVP) bagged 23,046 votes as compared to Leena (NSUI) who managed to get 15,000 votes. Shakti Singh won by 8,046 votes. (Agencies)