LAHDC Polls: NC tops tally with 9 seats, Congress 5, Independents 5, BJP 1, PDP1

JAMMU, AUG 31: The National Conference (NC), which suffered a massive defeat in the last elections, dominated the Kargil’s political scene today by securing victory on nine seats of Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council (LAHDC) Kargil, the counting for which, was commenced today and was going on when this report was filed.
With the results so far available, NC got nine, Congress five while PDP and BJP have got one seat each besides five Independents.
It is a major setback to the Bharatiya Janata Party as it failed to get expected strength in Kargil’s LAHDC, despite majority of its state leaders having garrisoned in Kargil for over a month prior to elections.
As per results available, NC candidates who were declared elected included Haji Abass from Kargil Town constituency, Altaf Hussain from Chuliskamboo, Mubaraik Shah from Ranbirpora, P Tashi from Padum Zanskar, Haji Ghulam from Parkachik, Aga Abass from Taisuru, Kacho Feroz from Silmoo, Mohd Amin Poyen and former MLC Aga Sayed Rizvi from Thand Dumboor (Sankoo).
Among Congress candidates, K Feroz was declared elected from Pashkum, Aga M Shah from Bhimbhat, Stanzin Jigmet from Karsha Zanskar, Gh Mehdi Sheikh from Baroo and N Munshi was declared elected from Choskore conctituency.
PDP candidate Mohd Ali won from Shargole while BJP candidate Lakpa won from Cha, Zanskar.
Five Independent candidates declared elected included Former CEC Kacho A Khan won from Yourbastag constituency, Former Councilor Aga Sayed Mujhtaba from Trespone, Former Councilor Aga Sayed Arman won from Saliskote, Aga Sayed Mehdi from GM Pore and Gh Haider won from Lankarchey constituency.
Polling for 26 of the 30 seats of LAHDC was held on 27 August. The other four seats will be filled through nomination.
According to reports, the counting is taking time as the polling was conducted through ballots.
The BJP had made the election a prestige issue and its senior leaders campaigned in the cold desert region.
This is for the first time that elections to the LAHDC are being held under the Governor’s rule.
BJP had left six seats for the candidates of sitting Zanskar MLA Syed Mohammad Baqir Rizvi, and fielded its own activists on the remaining 14 seats. It is also supporting Independents on the remaining six seats.
The party was learnt to be targeting independents to capture the LAHDC.
Out of the 99 candidates who contested the election, 23 are from the Congress, 20 from NC, 14 from BJP, 21 from PDP and 21 are Independents.