History of Governor’s rule in J&K

1. March 26-July 9, 1977
Governor : L K Jha
Period : 105 days
Reason : Governor’s Rule was imposed for the first time when Congress withdrew support to Sheikh Muhammad Abdullah-led coalition government.
2. March 6-November 7, 1986
Governor : Jagmohan
Period : 246 days
Reason : In July 1984, Sheikh Muhammad Abdullah’s son-in-law Ghulam Muhammad Shah toppled the government headed by Dr Farooq Abdullah with the help of 26 Congress MLAs and 12 NC defectors. But in March 1986, the Congress withdrew support from Shah, paving the way for another spell of Governor’s Rule.
However, after six months, the President’s Rule, in line with constitutional requirement, was imposed.
3. January 19, 1990- October 9, 1996
Governor: Jagmohan
Period: 6 years, 264 days
Reason: The longest spell of central rule in J&K became inevitable in 1990 when armed conflict broke out in the state. The resignation of Dr Farooq Abdullah-led government against the appointment of Jagmohan as Governor led to imposition of Governor’s Rule. The President’s Rule was imposed on July 19, 1990, which continued till October 1996 when assembly elections were held first time after eruption of militancy.
4. October 18-November 2, 2002
Governor: GC Saxena
Period: 15 days
Reason: Following the 2002 assembly poll outcome, Governer’s Rule was imposed after Farooq Abdullah refused to continue as caretaker Chief Minister of the state as PDP and Congress took a lot of time (15 days) to cobble up numbers to form the government.
5. July 11, 2008-January 5, 2009
Governor: N N Vohra
Period: 178 days
Reason: This time, Governor’s Rule was imposed following the fall of Ghulam Nabi Azad-led coalition government. Azad resigned as Chief Minister of Jammu and Kashmir without facing a confidence vote on the floor of Assembly.
Azad’s government was in minority after PDP had on June 28, 2008 withdrawn its support to the Azad-led government on the Amarnath land transfer issue.
6. January 9- March 1, 2015
Governor: NN Vohra
Period: 51 days
Reason: The rule was imposed in the state for the sixth time after the assembly election results on December 23, 2014 threw up a hung assembly with no party or combination of parties able to stake claim to government formation and Omar Abdullah, the caretaker chief minister, asking to be relieved from his duties with immediate effect on January 7.
7. January 8, 2016- April 4, 2016
Governor: NN Vohra
Period: 87 days
Reason: Then CM Mufti Mohammed Sayeed’s death was the cause for the seventh promulgation of the Governor’s Rule on January 8, 2016 after allies PDP and BJP deferred the government formation process till the end of the four-day mourning period.