Office of profit case: Election Commission to hold hearing for 20 AAP MLAs today

NEW DELHI, May 17: The Election Commission Thursday will resume hearing the alleged office of profit case against 20 Aam Aadmi Party MLAs. This, after the Delhi High Court had in April this year, set aside their disqualification on grounds that the poll panel’s recommendation in the case were “bad in law”.
The panel had in April dispatched notices to all legislators, informing that Chief Election Commissioner O P Rawat and Election Commissioners Sunil Arora and Ashok Lavasa would conduct an oral hearing on the matter at 3 pm on May 17. The complaint demands disqualification of 20 AAP MLAs -Alka Lamba, Adarsh Shastri, Sanjeev Jha, Rajesh Gupta, Kailash Gahlot, Vijendra Garg, Praveen Kumar, Sharad Kumar, Madan Lal and Shiv Charan Goyal, among others – on the ground that they were unconstitutionally appointed as parliamentary secretaries to assist various ministers of the Delhi government. The others were Sarita Singh, Naresh Yadav, Rajesh Rishi, Anil Kumar, Som Dutt, Avtar Singh, Sukhvir Singh Dala, Manoj Kumar, Nitin Tyagi and Jarnail Singh. (Agencies)