Illegal settlement of Rohingyas, Bangladeshis part of a larger conspiracy: Harsh

JAMMU, APR 22: Launching a scathing attack on the BJP for hoodwinking the people over the much awaited deportation of Rohingyas and Bangladeshis from Jammu region amid brewing public anger, a strong contingent of Panther activists spearheaded by Chairman JKNPP Harsh Dev Singh staged a vociferous protest demonstration at Exhibition Ground today. While raising slogans of “Gaddar BJP, Hai Hai”, “Chodho Hamara Jammu Pradesh, Rohingyas Jaao Bangladesh”, ‘Rohingyas, Bangladeshis Go back’ they torched the effigy of the BJP and sought repatriation of the illegally settled foreigners without any further delay.
Describing the Rohingyas as the biggest threat to the communal harmony and composite culture of Jammu, Harsh Dev Singh lambasted the criminal apathy of the govt over the issue resulting in massive public outrage. He said that despite proven criminal record of Rohingyas and their suspected role in terror attacks, the BJP partnered dispensation had not responded to the alarming situation which could vitiate peace in the ‘city of temples’.
Lambasting the Saffron Party for adopting resolution in its WC meeting recently regarding enquiry into the role of politicians in their illegal settlement in Jammu Pradesh, he said that such moves were made only for public consumption to divert attention of public. He said that the BJP Working Committee in its resolution had on April 1 at Suchetgarh recommended to the Govt to constitute a commission headed by a sitting High Court judge to inquire into the circumstances leading to their settlement and fix responsibility of persons involved in the activity. “With GoM constituted earlier turning defunct, the newly proposed commission is nowhere in sight. It seems that the government is not bothered to contemplate any move to deport these foreign immigrants despite public revulsion which has reached its peak. BJP is keeping the Kashmir centric leaders and the separatists in good humour by shelving the most dangerous issue which has been haunting Jammu region for a long time now”, dismayed Harsh said.
Accusing the Congress, NC, PDP of openly supporting Rohingyas settlement in the State, Harsh Dev Singh further admonished the BJP led dispensation for providing all civic amenities to them thereby suggesting to grant them permanent shelter. He said that it was a bitter truth that the number of illegal foreign immigrants posing a demographic threat to Jammu region had soared under BJP rule with thousands of Rohingyas camping in Jammu and Samba districts. They had illegally raised fabricated slums at several congested colonies in Jammu city and managed to procure PRCs, Aadhar cards, Ration cards, free water connections under the tutelage of the present BJP-PDP dispensation. They were provided around 8000 electricity connections in their localities on a negligible tariff which was nearly ‘free’ as per the disclosures made in an RTI reply. Their children were seeking admissions in Govt. schools on the basis of fake documents while the local eligible children were divested of their legitimate rights. Surprisingly, the notorious clan of Rohingyas had established “Burma Market” in Narwal selling items of daily consumption, Harsh divulged. He said that these immigrants described as ‘ticking time bombs’ by the intelligentsia had been found active in fuelling narco smuggling, human trafficking, child abductions, sacrilegious acts, border crossing, etc. He added that they were also enjoying the patronage of the radical terror outfits like JeM, HM and DeM with their suspected involvement in the recent terror attack on Sunjwan Army camp.
Harsh Dev Singh said that illegal settlement of these Rohingyas and Bangladeshis in Jammu was a part of larger conspiracy in which the BJP seemed to have once again surrendered to the dictates of their Kashmir masters for power sake.
Prominent among those who spoke on the occasion included Rajesh Padgotra, Gagan Partap Singh, Sham Gorkha, Parshotam Singh, Khajoor Singh, Capt. Narotam Singh, Nirmal Kishore, Rashpaul Singh, Vishab Singh, Udhayveer Singh, Stiffness Gill, Sansar Chand, Pawandeep Singh and Rattan Singh.