Seven Union Ministers win RS polls unopposed

NEW DELHI, Mar 15: Seven Union Ministers including Ravi Shankar Prasad and Prakash Javadekar were declared elected unopposed to the Rajya Sabha today, while the stage is set for the March 23 contest in six states, including Uttar Pradesh from where Finance Minister Arun Jaitley is in the fray.
Law Minister Prasad and HRD Minister Javadekar were elected from their home states Bihar and Maharashtra, while Petroleum Minister Dharmendra Pradhan and Social Justice and Empowerment Minister Thawar Chand Gehlot made it to the Rajya Sabha from Madhya Pradesh. Health Minister J P Nadda got elected unopposed from Himachal Pradesh.
Union Ministers Purshottam Rupala and Mansukh Mandavia also got elected from Gujarat without a contest.
Official nominees of major parties were elected unopposed in Gujarat, Maharashtra, Madhya Pradesh, Bihar, Andhra Pradesh, Himachal Pradesh, Odisha, Rajasthan, Haryana and Uttarakhand.
There would be contest for electoral laurels in six states, including Uttar Pradesh, West Bengal, Karnataka, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh and Telangana where there are more nominees than seats up for grabs. (Agencies)