185 students to be honoured at JU’s convocation on Mar 4, Jaitley to address

Jammu, Mar 2: Union Finance Minister Arun Jaitley will be addressing the 17th Convocation of University of Jammu here on March 4 in which as many as 185 candidates will be honoured.
University of Jammu is poised to achieve yet another milestone in its long and distinct odyssey in the mission of spreading higher learning in Jammu and Kashmir by holding its 17th Convocation-a great moment for the whole fraternity of the University on Mar 4, University spokesperson here said.
He said that the Union Minister for Finance and Corporate Affairs, Arun Jaitley will address the Convocation while Governor, N N Vohra, who is also the Chancellor of the University and Chief Minister, Mehbooba Mufti, who is also the Pro-Chancellor of the University, shall also address the Convocation.
In the said Convocation, 185 candidates will be awarded degrees and 59 other meritorious students will be honored with the Gold Medals, he added.
Established in the year 1969, University of Jammu is an autonomous State University and has recently been accredited as ‘A+’ Grade University by National Assessment & Accreditation Council (NAAC) of India.
University has also achieved a unique distinction of being ranked at 63rd among the top 100 Universities of the country by National Institutional Ranking Framework (NIRF) introduced by the Ministry of Human Resource Development (MHRD). The University has also been identified as one of the few Universities for special grant under RUSA.
The University offers around seventy postgraduate and undergraduate courses in different faculties. The research programmes range across many disciplines, imparting Ph.D. in around 37 and M.Phil. in around 26 disciplines. The University of Jammu is an affiliating University; 126 colleges have been affiliated with it. The main campus, apart from the teaching departments, also houses the Directorate of Distance Education which has an enrollment of about 2800 students at the undergraduate level and about 8400 students at the post graduate level.
At present, the University has Seven functional campuses located at Bhaderwah, Kathua, Reasi, Ramnagar, Udhampur, Kishtwar and Poonch. These campuses offer various programmes to meet the demand and aspirations of the people living in these remote areas.