Dorjey Motup is new LAHDC Chairman

Leh, Feb 19: Dorjey Mutup, Councilor Kyungam Constituency was elected uncontested and unopposed the 7th Chief Executive Councilor of 5th Hill Council, Leh.
The post of CEC, LAHDC got vacant on January 30 after the sudden demise of Late Dr Sonam Dawa Lonpo while on the position.
Councilor Sakti Gyal P Wangyal proposed the name of Dorjey Mutup for the post of Chairman/CEC seconded by Councilor Tingmosgang Tsering Morup and in the absence of any second nomination DC, Leh/CEO, LAHDC Avny Lavasa who is also the election authority declared Dorjey Mutup as unanimously elected for the post of Chairman/CEC, LAHDC Leh in Assembly Hall, Council Secretariat today.
The election session commenced with two minutes silence to mourn the irreparable loss of Dr Sonam Dawa followed by an obituary note by Jamyang Tsering Namgial and opposition leader Gurmet Dorjey as tribute to previous CEC, LAHDC Dr. Sonam Dawa Lonpo.
The election session was attended by Minister Ladakh Affairs & Cooperatives Chhering Dorjey, all the elected Councilors of Hill Council and other dignitaries including Abinash Ray Khanna, BJP National Vice President, Sat Paul Sharma (MLA) BJP State President, Ashok Kaul BJP Organising Secretary, Pawan Khajuria BJP State General Secretary.
In his speech after taking over the seat of CEC, LAHDC, Dorjey Mutup committed to achieve the goals taking together all parties for common good and welfare of people of Leh district.
Stressing on the phrase, ‘equality is the quality of Hill Council’ Mutup said that his endeavour would be to ensure equal development in all sectors, regions and communities with quality work.
He said that he would give his best in following the footsteps of Dr. Sonam Dawa Lonpo who has worked hard to achieve progress in every field ensuring good support from state and centre government.
In pursuance of the power vested under Section 29 (1) (b) of the Ladakh Autonomous Hill Development Council Act, 1995, Dorjey Mutup, CEC LAHDC nominated Tsering Wangdus- Councilor Saspol, Gyal P Wangyal- Councilor Sakti, Tsering Sandup- Councilor Panamik and Mumtaz Hussain- Councilor Chuchot as the Executive Councilors of his office with respective portfolios.
Before the event start, two minute silence was observed to pay homage for the Late Dr Sonam Dawa Lonpo.
After the Ladakh Affairs Department issued a notification under SRO 82 for the conduct of the election of the Chairman LAHDC Leh which has fallen vacant after the sudden demise of Dr Sonam Dawa on January 29, 2018 because as per the LAHDC Act, the executive body, comprising executive councillors, has been dissolved and a fresh body will have to be re-constituted within a month.
With the sudden demise of late Dr Sonam Dawa, the 30-members LAHDC has now reduced to 29 and out of which BJP has 19 Councillors. Other members in LAHDC included five Congress Councillors, two NC, two nominated from PDP and one independent.
The BJP run LAHDC Leh which was formed in October 2015 and the term expires in October 2020.
Talking to media BJP State party President Satpal Sharma said, “I congratulate Dorjay Motup who has been in the LAHDC for the fourth time and today elect as new CEC”. It should be the task of elected CEC, EC and Councillor to make a commitment to work for the development of the region irrespective of political differences said, Sharma.

Minister Chering Dorje said, Dorjay Motup will work to maintain the high standards in public service as pursued by Dr. Sonam Dawa.
Due to constitutional requirement of ten days we got delay to elect new CEC and it is our traditional to work with unanimously belonging to any party which is happen today again. He further said that there would be an election in the Thiksey Constituency for its new Councillor within five months.
While interacting with Greater Jammu, newly elected CEC Drojay Motup said that we have to work collectively for the development of the region with the support of party belonging to different parties.
“We are great full to MP Thupstan Chhewang, Member of Parliament, Chering Dorje Minister for Ladakh Affairs & Co-op, Govt. of J&K and DC Leh to complete the process of election successfully,” he said.