United Fans lift 5th Akbar Ladakhi T-20 trophy

LEH, FEB 12: The 5th Akbar Ladakhi T-20 Cricket Tournament, in which 24 teams from different parts of Leh participated, concluded today at Rinbirpur Ground Thiksey. The final match of the tournament, played between Spartan Club and United Fans, was won by United Fans by 3 runs. The tournament was organized by Jaffaria Association Leh.
Nominated Councilor, Sayeeda Banoo was the Chief Guest on the occasion whereas Advocate Muzaffar Hussain Barcha, President Anjuman Imamiya (Youth Wing) Leh was the Guest of Honour.
Earlier, after winning the toss, United Fans opted to bat first and scored 130 runs in allotted 20 overs. While chasing the target, Spartan Club was all out for 127 in 19 overs thus loosing the match by 3 runs.
Speaking on the occasion, the Chief Guest appreciated participants for playing the tournament in harsh weather conditions. “Sports impart a sense of bonding and togetherness among people and for supporting the same, I promise to donate as sum of R 1 lakh to the Organizing Committee,” she added. Muzafar Hussain Barcha also spoke on the occasion.
While interacting with Greater Jammu, President, Jaffaria Association, Zakir Hussain highlighted aims and objectives for organizing the tournament annually from last five years. He said, “Late Akbar Ladakhi was one of the well known intellectuals of Ladakh and first KAS officer from Muslim community of Ladakh region. Akbar Ladakhi was elected as the President of Anjuman Immamia Leh and played a vital role in strengthening relation between Muslim and Buddhist communities in the region. To remember his contributions, we annually organize this tournament.”
Asif Hussain from Spatan Club was awarded as the Man of the Series while Mohd Salim from United Fans was declared Man of the Match. Winner team was awarded a sum of R 16000 and Runner-up team was presented a cash prize of R 11000.