Governor administers oath to new Cabinet ministers

JAMMU, DEC 28: Governor N.N. Vohra administered Oath of Office and Secrecy at the ceremony held at the Raj Bhavan here today morning to the Legislators Javaid Mustafa Mir and Tassaduq Hussain Mufti who have been inducted into the Cabinet as Ministers for the State.
According to an order, issued today, Tasaduq Mufti has been allotted Tourism ministry while Javaid Mustafa Mir who was also inducted into the cabinet today has been given the portfolios of Disaster Management, Relief and Rehabilitation, and Reconstruction and Floriculture.
Abdul Rehman Veeri who was already holding the Revenue and Parliamentary affairs was given additional portfolio of Hajj and Auqaf.
As per the order Minister of State Asiea Naqash shall now be holding the portfolio of Housing and Urban Development, Social Welfare, Health & Medical Education, Power Development and Industries & Commerce while MoS Zahoor Ahmad Mir shall be now holding Forest, Ecology and Environment, Animal & Sheep Husbandry, Cooperative, Fisheries and PHE, I&FC.
Cinematographer-turned-politician Mufti who is the younger brother of Ms Mufti was earlier heading Chief Minister’s grievance cell. Mufti made a comeback to the state politics after father and Chief Minister Mufti Mohammad Sayeed passed away on January 7, 2015.
Meanwhile, Mir, who was revenue minister in Mufti Sayeed-led PDP-BJP Government, has also been inducted into Ms Mufti’s cabinet.
The oath ceremony was attended by Mrs. Usha Vohra, First Lady; Ms. Mehbooba Mufti, Chief Minister; Kavinder Gupta, Speaker of the Legislative Assembly; Haji Anayat Ali, Chairman Legislative Council; Dr. Nirmal Kumar Singh, Deputy Chief Minister; Ministers, Chairpersons and Vice-Chairpersons of various Boards and Commissions; Chief Secretary; DGP; and senior Civil and Police officers.