Prez appoints Guvs, Lt Guv

NEW DELHI:President Ramnath Kovind today appointed Governors to five states-Bihar, Assam, Arunachal Pradesh, Tamil Nadu and Meghalaya, and Lt Governor to union territory of Andaman and Nicobar Islands, a communique from Rashtrapati Bhawan said here on Saturday.
Prof Jagdish Mukhi will be the Governor of Assam, while Satya Pal Malik has been appointed as Governor of Bihar.
Banwarilal Purohit will go to Tamil Nadu and Ganga Prasad to Meghalaya on the gubernatorial post. Brig(Dr) BD Misra will be the Governor of Arunachal Pradesh.
Besides, Admiral (Retd) Devendra Kumar Joshi has been appointed as Lt Governor of Andaman and Nicobar Islands.
“The above appointments will take effect from the dates the incumbents assume charge of their respective offices,” the Rashtrapati Bhawan communique said. (Agencies)