WPRs worst victims of Article 35-A: Ashwani Sharma

JAMMU, SEP 13: Stating that West Pakistani Refugees (WPRs) are the worst victims of article 35-A, former MLA and senior BJP leader, Ashwani Sharma today said that his party is committed to provide citizenship rights to these refugees. He said that for past 70 years, WPRs are suffering due to ‘special status’ of the State and have been deprived of basic rights which people in rest of the country are enjoying.
While addressing a public meeting at Arnia, which was attended by number of WPRs, Ashwani Sharma said that National Conference (NC) and Congress parties are responsible for the mess in the State by keeping a large chunk of population without the basic rights.
“Despite living in this State since Independence WPRs are yet to get identity of being the citizen of the state and have property rights. These refugees are not given the chance to get employment in the state where they have spent their entire life. They have given their blood to this nation but in response they have not been given peanuts,” Ashwani Sharma said.
He took on NC and Congress for playing the politics on Article 35-A which is the main cause of discrimination with refugees. “These parties have double standards towards the state when it comes to give citizenship rights to refugees. They are not even loyal to their women folk who are also victims of Article 35-A,” he said. “Both NC and Congress these days are invoking Maharaja in safeguarding the Article 35-A, but are playing politics when it comes to announce holiday on Maharaja’s birthday, which is their double standard,” he said.
He assured WPRs that their issue will be resolved soon as BJP is committed to provide equal rights to them like other citizens of the state and for achieving that if BJP requires to expose NC and Congress, they will do that.
Prominent among others present on the occasion included Romesh Saini, Mandal president Arnia, Yashpal Saini Mandal General Secretary, Yash Pal Chowdhary Mandal Vice – President, Romesh Kumar saini West Pakistani Refugee leader Arnia, Naib Sarpanch Davinder singh, Ashu Saini.