Vipan wins Junior Snooker title
JAMMU: Vipan Malhi today bagged the Junior Snooker title in the Jammu District Billiards and Snooker Championship, organized by the J&K Billiards and Snooker Association at Billiards Hall, MA Stadium, here. In the title clash, Vipan defeated Manik Sharma in straight 3-0 (62-21, 56-14, 52-07) frames.
Meanwhile, in the ongoing senior billiards event, Akhil Tandon, Ishan Choudhary and Ishuk Choudhary won their respective matches to advance in the competition.
The Results: Akhil Tandon bt Kashif 2-0 (100-94, 104-61); Ishan Choudhary bt Ansh Chopra 2-1 (101-65, 73-100, 101-82); Ishuk Choudhary bt Avish Sharma 2-0 (104-75, 101-87).
GHSS Gandhi Nagar boys win Hockey tie
JAMMU: Government Higher Secondary School (GHSS) Gandhi Nagar defeated Army Public School (APS) Ratnuchak 2-0 to advance in the two-day inter-school under-19 boys hockey tournament of Jammu district, organized by the Department of Youth Services and Sports (DYSS) at K K Hakhu Stadium, here today.
In other scheduled matches, APS Kaluchak blanked GHSS Gole Gujral 3-0 and APS Jammu Cantonment trounced GHSS R S Pura 3-2 in a close contest.
Simula Club enters semis of KCSC Cup
JAMMU: Simula Club today reached the semifinals stages of the ongoing KC Sports Club (KCSC) Twenty20 Cricket Tournament at KC Public School ground, here today.
In today’s tie, Simula defeated Dream Cricket Club (DCC) by 14 runs. Earlier, batting first, Simula set a target of 76 runs for nine wickets. Hardeep Singh, Vikram Manhas and Kuldeep were only batsmen to score in double figure with 21, 12 and 10 runs in their respective accounts. From DCC, Anchal and Sawan shared three wickets each, followed by Arshad, Yasir and Vicky, who shared apiece each.
In reply, DCC was bundled out for 62 runs in 15 overs to lose the tie. Anchal (19) and Meena (12) were top scorers. Hardeep Singh bowled deadly spell from Simula taking away six wickets. Raman Dutta bagged three and Satish took one.
Later, Hardeep Singh was named man of the match for his all-round performance. Saidq Hussain, Sanju and Vinod Kandyara were officials in today’s tie.