VC, IGP give away prizes of JU sports meet

GJ Report
JAMMU, May 30: Vice Chancellor (VC), Prof R D Sharma and Inspector General of Police (IGP) of J&K Police, Dr S D Singh today gave away the prizes to those winners and runners-up of inter departmental and staff competitions on the occasion of Annual Campus Sports Day of the University of Jammu (JU) held on the campus here today.
Those visiting guests enjoyed the colourful closing ceremony amidst tug of war, musical chair and other entertaining events held in front of the gathering.
Speaking to the gathering, Prof. RD Sharma lauded the efforts of the Campus Sports Committee and advised everyone to participate in games and sports to live a healthy life. Guest of honour, IGP, Dr SD Singh Jamwal also appreciated those winners and runners and encouraged other participants.
Registrar University of Jammu, Prof Keshav Sharma also addressed the gathering and hailed the efforts of the Campus Sports Committee, especially Prof. Avtar Singh Jasrotia and his entire team for the successful conduct of the said event.
Organising secretary and chairman Campus Sports Committee, Prof. Avtar Singh Jasrotia earlier welcomed the gathering and presented annual report of the Campus sports activities. Incharge PTI Campus, Vikas Karlopia presented vote of thanks.
Medal Winners:
Badminton (Men): Winner: Dr. Sandeep Arya (Physics Department), Ist. Runners-up: Vikas Karlopia (Physical Education). Badminton (Men) Double: Winner: Chaman Lal Sharma (Services) and Vishal Sudhan (DAA). Runners-up: Gursharan Singh (Economics) and Gagandeep Singh (Physical Education).
Table-Tennis (Men): Winner: Prof. Rakesh Vaid (Electronics). Runners-up: Prof. PVKS Baba (Physics).
Carrom (Men): Winner: Prof. PVKS Baba (Physics). Runners-up: Gurmeet Singh (Hindi). Carrom (Men) Double: Winner: Gurmeet Singh and Sudesh Kumar. Runners-up: Prof.PVKS Baba and Pawan Singh. Carrom (Women): Winner: Dr Meghna Dhar (Library Science). Runners-up: Pooja Manhas (DDE). Carrom (Women) Double: Winner: Dr.Meghna Dhar and Savita Nayyar. Runner-up: Pooja Manhas and Komal Bakshi.
Badminton (Women): Winner: Komal Bakshi (DDE). Runner-up: Dr Savita Nayyar (Law Department).
Campus Sports Day: Results:
50 mts (Women): Naresh Kumari, Ist; Ranju Verma, 2nd and Reeta Kaul, 3rd. 100 mts: Mts. Race (Men): Sandeep Bakshi, Ist; Niranjan Charak, 2nd and Vishal Sharma, 3rd. Musical Chair (Women): Reeta Koul, Ist; Pooja Manhas, 2nd. Spoon Race (Boys): Himanshu Tripathi, Ist; Tarun Bharati, 2nd and Sohail, 3rd. Spoon Race (Girls): Sonidhi Mehra, Ist; Laksheta Singh, 2nd and Sonia Verma, 3rd. Three Tug of War: Neeraj Sharma led JU employees team beat Students team. Special Awards:
Ashita Majotra(singing); Sunidhi (singing); Deepmala Kotwal (anchoring).
Inter-department: Winners: Cricket (M): The Law Department. Volleyball (M): Mathematics Department. Badminton (M): Physical education Department. Table-Tennis (M): Physical education Department. Chess (M): The Law School. Carrom (M): Physical education Department. Badminton (W): Psychology Department. Table-Tennis (W): Political Science Department. Chess (W): Environmental Sciences. Carrom (W): Life Long Learning Department.